Adventures around Yogya

A Saturday morning ride out of Jogja

Here are some pictures from my recent adventures around Jogja. These first pictures are from a recent bike ride east of Yogyakarta (aka Jogjakarta aka Jogja aka Yogya – it’s all the same place in case that is confusing). I rode east of Jogja with some friends to a small temple from the 8th century. The temple was covered in the 9th century when nearby volcano Merapi exploded and covered it with ash.  The temple currently sits about 6 meters below the rest of the land.  We chatted a bit with the farmer who discovered the temple in the mid 60s.  He was working in this field one day and said he hit a big rock with his shovel, but he could tell that the rock was different. In the end, he discovered the first remains of this temple. Pretty cool.

8th Century Temple

There are a lot of awesome things about Jogja. I can’t even begin to get into them all, but one of the really nice things is that it’s really easy to bike out of the city.  The city itself is pretty small and compact, and mountains, volcanoes, and beaches are all within biking distance. This last week my friend Rowena and I went for a bike ride to the beach about 25ish miles away. Two other friends met us there with their slackline and we slacklined on the beach.

Rice fields outside Jogja on the way to the beach.

Teaching the next generation of slackliners.

Horse taxi on the beach

As I put together this blog post I realized that this is the only picture I have of food in Indonesia.  These are some seriously whack priorities, because the nomz here are out of this world.  I am going to try to get much better about documenting my adventures in reading the nomscape, but for now this flattering picture of eating fried duck will have to suffice.

Fried duck nomz

One thought on “Adventures around Yogya

  1. Jacob says:

    The duck in Beijing is better.

    Also, unrelated, but we just hosted a Halloween themed alleycat here in Chengdu. We sort of did it in a rush so checking our Chinese wasn’t top priority. Anyway, on one of the flyers we put up around different shops in town I had written 惊喜 as 经期.

    Roughly translated, my intention was to say we had a pleasant surprise in store, but advertised a woman’s period instead. Suppose that it’s own pleasant surprise of sorts!

Leave a comment