Video from Beijing

I know that this is long overdue considering that I left Beijing almost two months ago, but I finally finished editing this video from Beijing. When I first opened this footage, I couldn’t really remember when I had filmed it. As I started watching I was struck by how beautiful the city looked. The foliage is full, the sun is out, and the shadowy streets look amazing.  I wouldn’t exactly characterize Beijing by sunny, blue skied days, but in this video the sky is clear, with no smog to be seen (very out of character for the Big Dirty) . Then about half way through watching the footage, I remembered exactly what day it was when I filmed. It was the prettiest day of my whole time in Beijing, and I had ridden out to the arts district. Watching the footage I recalled  how happy I felt riding around on that picturesque day. At that moment riding around under the blue sky was exactly when I needed to be reminded of all the simple reasons why I love to bike.

Editing this video also made me really miss Beijing, which is funny because I wouldn’t say that Beijing itself was my favorite place. More than anything I think watching this reminded me of all the cool people I met in Beijing, and how lucky I was to make a good group of friends there.

(PS – so I recently downloaded final cut pro and a split-screen plug-in.  I’m still figuring out my way around final cut and stuff, and how to most effectively use the split-screen. What do you think?)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment